Influences of Photography

For this post I thought it would be a good idea to write about a couple of photographers that I feel were/are a huge influence in their field or photography in general. If I was to pick a photographer to go top of this list I guess I would have to pick David Bailey because although he is a huge name in the fashion world he is also very well known even to people not in the photography business, with his name often used to describe up and coming photographers with people saying things like “they’re the next David Bailey”. Even with that the name David Bailey is a huge name in photography with a career that started around the beginning of the 60’s and is still going on to this day, he has worked with so many famous names such as Mick Jagger, Kate Moss, George Michael and the list goes on and on. To summarise I feel that David Bailey is a massive influence in photography, and I doubt there is a photographer out there that doesn’t know who he is.

The next photographer I think was a huge influence would have to be Richard Avedon because again I feel that this is a name that carries a huge amount of weight in the photography world, his career was another long standing career spanning about 60 years and I believe he was working with the same passion for photography till the day he died. Through out his career he worked for many establishments such as Calvin Klein, Revlon, Versace and also having long standing jobs with Harper’s Bazaar and Vouge.

Leave a comment